Here a GOGY, there a GOGY, everywhere a GOGY,…

Helpful chart comparing the "gogy's"

Helpful chart comparing the “gogy’s”

Well, this was certainly the week for learning about terms ending in GOGY!

Have you heard of the terms andragogy? heutagogy? and technoheutagogy? I certainly hadn’t before the discussion this week in the PIDP# 3250 Instructional Strategies course!

Although Pedagogy is defined by Free Dictionary.com as the “principle, practice, and profession of teaching” (Collins English Dictionary, 2003, p. 1), a number of authors and academics are now using this term to more specifically describe children’s learning (McKeown, L., 2010). “Peda” comes from the greek language and means child-leading.

As you may have surmised, andragogy is the adult version: the “science of understanding (= theory) and supporting (= practice) lifelong and lifewide education of adults”, with the root “andra” coming from the Greek language meaning man-leading (Wikipedia, 2014, p. 1).

So, what’s heutagogy? Its the science and principles of self-directed or self-determined learning (Hase & Kenyon, 2000). I realize now that although I thought I was using the principles of self-directed learning to facilitate my students’ learning, this is not entirely true. In heutagogy, the educator provides some resources but it is the student who primarily negotiates their learning (McKeown, 2010).

Finally, technoheutagogy is “the science and art of creating technology-enhanced learner-directed learning” environments (National Social Sciences Association, n.d.)

What I found interesting in our discussions were the distinct differences between each science/type of learner related to their dependence, reasons and focus of learning, motivation, resources needed to learn, and especially the role of the teacher.

I can relate pedagogy to my experiences in primary school, where the teacher was the primary transmitter of content for what, how, and when I learned. I was motivated to learn (externally by others perhaps) in order to move up to the next grade, focused on subject matter that was sequenced and planned.

I relate andragogy to my experiences in post-secondary education (fully at the under-graduate level, and partially at the Masters level). I was interested in a specific profession and serious about gaining the information I needed; I was motivated, engaged, and internally driven to success. By this stage in life, I had gained a good amount of self-confidence in my abilities as an effective communicator, and felt I had the skills to learn successfully and succeed. I strived for autonomy and self-direction, and transitioned from an dependent to independent learner. Prior learning helped to scaffold newly acquired information into new knowledge. My most favoured professors made me feel that my opinion counted. They respected me, and empowered and believed in me. I thrived!

I believe I have only dabbled in and out of heutagogy. Although termed “self-directed learning, my post-graduate education was truly a hybrid between angragogy and heutagogy. While it was a very positive experience, I sometimes wondered where my professors were and why they were not contributing to my learning experience in a more significant way.

My first truly heutagogonous experience is #3250 – Instructional Strategies, and I can now appreciate both the difference and the benefits behind this approach. Why? Because I finally understand the background, reasons for, focus of learning, and especially the role of the educator in heutagogy! Thanks to Linda McKeown, whose chart was invaluable to me in shedding some light and making clear distinctions between all the “gogy’s” (2010).

Reference:

Andragogy. (n.d.) Wikipedia.org. (2014). Retrieved January 21 2015 from http://encyclopedia.thefreedictionary.com/Andragog.

Hase, S. and Kenyon, C. (2000). From andragogy to heutagogy. Ultibase, RMIT. http://ultibase.rmit.edu.au/Articles/dec00/hase2.htm

McKeowen, L. (2010). Educational technology and mobile learning. Retrieved January 20, 2015 from http://www.educatorstechnology.com/2013/11/interesting-chart-outlining-differences.html

Pedagogy. (n.d.) Collins English Dictionary – Complete and Unabridged. (1991, 1994, 1998, 2000, 2003). Retrieved January 21 2015 from http://www.thefreedictionary.com/pedagogy.

Technoheutagogy. (n.d.). National Social Sciences Association. Retrieved January 21 2015 from: http://www.technoheutagogy.com 

Leave a Reply

